Meditation Gardens

The greatest influence in your life, stronger even than your will power, is your environment. Change that, if necessary. Until you are mentally strong, you can never be what you want to be without good environment to help you. Paramahansa Yogananda

"Ming Tree"

“Ming Tree”

For my birthday, I really wanted to do something different, something that would refresh my spirit and my mind. Oh boy, was I blown away by the beauty of the meditation gardens in Encinitas, about 20-25 miles from San Diego. I was so glad my boyfriend’s mom told me about them. Otherwise, I don’t think I would have ever heard about them. This is truly a hidden gem in San Diego, a great place where one can truly appreciate silence and its power.

The meditation gardens are part of the Self-Realization Fellowship Retreat and Hermitage.

The Encinitas Center was founded in 1937 by Paramahansa Yogananda, this super cool poet and philosopher who came to the U.S. from India in the 1920’s, bringing with him his meditation teachings.

Besides a vast array of plants, trees, and flowers, there are several ponds with mini waterfalls housing huge Koi fish who like to stick their heads out begging for food, or maybe trying to get pet!

3 thoughts on “Meditation Gardens

Leave a Reply

